Of Chocolate Bread and Pumpkins

Published October 23, 2011 by Cassie

As mentioned before, I have an ongoing love affair with Uppercrust bakery in Gainesville. Every time I head to that part of town, I am drawn to Uppercrust like there’s some kind of creme-filled magnet pulling me towards it. This visit was particularly wonderful because they finally have started baking their amazing chocolate bread again!

A thick slice of chocolate with chocolate bread with peanut butter is better than most things in life. And that’s exactly what I had for a pre-dinner snack on Friday night…just because I could. Chocolate bread and apple cider out of a flamingo mug.

Later that night, my friends and I carved pumpkins! My poor pumpkin ended up looking a little janky due to a mustache malfunction, but in the end it wasn’t too awful.

Although my pumpkin was so pretty I felt a little guilty carving it. I knew that whatever I attempted with my limited art skills would be a disservice to my cute little pumpkin. However, we carved our pumpkins, large and small, and toasted pumpkin seeds while watching Hocus Pocus and Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho.

Toasted pumpkin seeds fresh out of the oven

I was already feeling the Halloween spirit before Friday night, but now I am going to doubly enjoy what’s left of October!

The finished pumpkins! Mine is the one with the strange bat-shaped mouth.

(Fellow Gator fans: the FSU pumpkin was later thrown off the balcony to a slimy, messy death by someone as my friends and I were leaving. I felt a bit sad about that, FSU carving aside).

2 comments on “Of Chocolate Bread and Pumpkins

  • Leave a Reply

