October: The Best Month

Published October 3, 2011 by Cassie

The first day of October was ushered in by beautiful 70 degree weather. I think this means Mother Nature loves October as much as I do.

It’s the best month, hands down. Soon there will be the Micanopy Fall Festival, Halloween parties (who doesn’t love a good costume party?), and lots and lots of pumpkin chocolate chip bread. Loads of it. I’m not holding back this year. Even better, my fondness for decorating the apartment with pumpkins is totally appropriate for the next two months.

I guess March is pretty great, too (month-wise), but it doesn’t have apple cider, mini-pumpkins, and Halloween movie marathons going for it. I’ll wait at least until the second week of October before I break down and watch Hocus Pocus for the 117th time.

October 1st also marked the day that it is now officially okay to start baking (and buying…) Halloween-themed desserts! Fresh Market had some adorably festive cupcakes on display.

On Saturday, my friend Amanda came over and we feasted on two different kinds of pasta, mini-cupcakes, and 6 episodes of Parks and Recreation, also known as The Best Show on Television.

A pretty fantastic start to October, if I do say so! This weekend, I’m heading home for my father’s birthday, and I’m looking forward to that. While this year has been busy in a good way, I am definitely ready for a bit of a breather. And for animal cuddles.

Here’s to a wonderful October!

One comment on “October: The Best Month

  • Leave a Reply

