4AM is totally the best time to start blogging again

Published May 28, 2011 by Cassie

Ah, summer. That special time of year where my internal body clock inevitably goes to Hell in a handbasket. I don’t know why I think every summer that it’ll be different and I’ll go to bed at 11pm like a normal person.

It never fails that I inevitably stay up until the wee hours of the morn and then sleep in until noon or later.

I really shouldn’t, though, because I’m actually busy this summer! After a crazy finals period, I’m home and working, taking online summer classes and working on a thesis. Er, I will be working on my thesis. Monday. That is my go day. I will not put this off any longer. Because really, what am I putting off? Watching 5 hour Pride and Prejudice and taking notes? Checking out oodles of books from the library about Jane Austen in film?

I love checking out books! Makes me feel like a rich-ass adult when I get to whip out my library card and be like, “I’ll have all of these books. Put it on my card.” Because I pretend the card has money on it and the books aren’t for free. It’s the little things.

Anyway, work! I have a real person job where I get paid money! I’m working in a tea shop as a barista/stock person and so far so good. And I get free tea while I’m working so I mean…free tea. Free fancy pants tea, at that. Who could say no to that?

Here’s a picture of fancy tea I found on Tumblr:

I won’t even go into how amazingly awful one of my summer classes is. The content is boring to me, but that’s not so bad. I am just in constant conflict with the stupid technology that goes along with it. My internet skills really only cover ordering my contacts and saving pictures to Tinypic.

Next time I post a blog entry (yes, there will be a next time), there will be pictures! I’ve been experimenting with a lot of new recipes this summer, so I think I’ll bust out the old camera again and take some pictures of food because that is my favorite thing in the world besides cats, tea, and Parks & Recreation. And cake, which deserves a category separate from the rest of food.

Leave a Reply

