Published November 8, 2010 by Cassie

Today I made homemade pasta sauce! I went to Fresh Market yesterday to pick up some clotted cream for Scone Night, and they have gorgeous heirloom tomatoes on sale.

I wish I’d remembered to take a picture of them before I blanched them, but alas…I didn’t. So just take my word for it,they were beautiful. Here’s a picture from Google of one type I bought, the Neves Azorean Red:

 

And I’m not positive, but I believe the yellow tomato I bought was a Brandywine Yellow:

I love heirloom tomatoes. I don’t think they taste particularly different from your run of the mill plum tomato, but they just feel extra special to cook with. I think its the word “heirloom,” it makes me feel like I’m cooking with cool vintage tomatoes. And if there’s one thing I love, its anything vintage.

Anyway, I’m quite sleepy, so I think I’ll just post some pictures I took of the process.

Blanched, peeled, and ready to chop.


It’s starting to look like sauce!

Dinner is served! Some baked chicken and angel hair pasta to go with the sauce. Delicioso.

Now if only I hadn’t almost started a fire during the process…

That’s a story for another time. RIP Cookie Sheet.

 

p.s. Real Madrid won today! Still undefeated!

Leave a Reply

