Published September 8, 2010 by Cassie

At least once a year, I decide that I should start a blog. I keep a personal journal as well, but there’s something about blogging that seems so much more fun, hip, etc. What inevitably happens is that I write about two or three entries, and then my overwhelming desire to keep a blog has been sated, at least for the next 6-12 months.

Well, this time I’m hoping things will be different. I’m going to try my damnedest to keep up with this thing. I may not write every day, but I’m going to make a bet with myself to keep writing for at least two months. If I can do that, I’m hoping I’ll stick with it for the long run.

I’m not sure what I’ll write about. I don’t have much of a set agenda. Right now, the biggest thing going on in my life is adjusting to living in a new place. For the first two years of college, I attended UNC-Chapel Hill. A lovely place, but something was missing. Or maybe it was that I couldn’t breathe under the weight of out-of-state tuition. I do miss my friends quite a bit though, they were the best part of UNC. Well, my friends and Med Deli (…kidding!). Now, I’ve just started my junior year at the University of Florida, and the future’s bright and humid.

I’m currently a theatre major, and I’m stuck debating the merits of adding a double major in English (yes, I’m looking to be doubly unemployed come graduation!). I didn’t think it would happen, but I miss English classes, particularly film based classes. There’s so many things I want to do, and I don’t really know where to start. This predicament means I generally end up doing little else besides reading, cooking, and watching Real Madrid matches on the internet). What a gripping life I do lead! But I’m trying this new thing where I do what makes me happy rather than what I think should make me happy, and so far, so good.

I’ve only been in school for two weeks, though, and I’m already testing the waters with some clubs and activities. However, my classes already have me knee deep in homework, so I’m going to need to find a way to have fun, make decent grades, and finish this semester with the majority of my sanity in tact!

And so, here starts two months (or more) of blogging.

Leave a Reply

